Skip to Content
Dusty Festival: About Us

The School of Visual Arts’ Dusty Film & Animation Festival showcases the work of emerging filmmakers and animators from the BFA Film and Video and BFA Animation departments, launching many of them in their professional careers. More than 3,000 people attend the Dusty Festival, which garners industry-wide recognition and is considered one of the top student film festivals in the country.

Presenters have included: Danny Aiello, Karen Allen, Ellen Barkin, Edward Burns, Patricia Clarkson, Sean Combs, Wes Craven, John Dilworth, Phil Donahue, Robert Elswit, Geoffrey Fletcher, James Gandolfini, James Ivory, Lisa F. Jackson, Andrew Jarecki, Harvey Keitel, Kevin Kline, Melissa Leo, Doug Liman, Viveca Lindfors, James Manos, Barry Markowitz, Craig McKay, Daniel Minahan, Matthew Modine, Andrew Mondshein, Michael Moore, Mira Nair, Katherine Narducci, Chris Newman, Arthur Penn, Bill Plympton, Declan Quinn, Mike and Tim Rauch, Nina Rosenblum, Thelma Schoonmaker, Fred Seibert, John Patrick Shanley, Bryan Singer, Tom Sito, Todd Solondz, Annie Sundberg, and John Turturro.

BFA Film and Animation alumni have received accolades and honors from renowned institutions and organizations such as the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; Academy of Television Arts and Sciences; Sundance Film Festival; Venice International Film Festival; International Animated Film Festival in Annecy, France; American Film Institute; Women in Film, and many others.

Alumni and representative credits include: Aaron Augenblick, animation director, Ugly Americans, Superjail; John Dilworth, creator, Chicken from Outer Space, Courage the Cowardly Dog; Randall Emmett, producer, Lone Survivor, Rambo, Righteous Kill; Yvette Kaplan, animation director/producer, Beavis and Butt-head, Doug, Ice Age, King of the Hill; Dan Minahan, director, True Blood, Six Feet Under, Game of Thrones; James Muro, camera operator, Longmire, X-Men, The Doors; Bill Plympton, creator, Your Face, Guard Dog; Harris Savides, director of photography, The Bling Ring,  American Gangster, Milk; Michael Simmonds, director of photography, Paranormal Activity 2, Project Nim, Goodbye Solo; Bryan Singer, director, X-Men, The Usual Suspects, executive producer, House M.D.; Tom Sito, animator, Aladdin, Little Mermaid, story artist, The Price of Egypt, Shrek; Rebecca Sugar, writer/storyboard artist, Adventure Time, creator, Steven Universe; Mark Ulano, production sound mixer, Inglorious Basterds, Iron Man 1 & 2, Titanic.